the thursday thirty, issue eleven.

yeah yeah, i know it’s a full week after thanksgiving – and it’s almost the end of this thursday as it is. nevertheless, this thursday thirty only feels appropriate if it outlines 30 things for which i’m thankful – part of a much longer list in itself. :)

  • having a relationship with the Father & Son.
  •  inheriting one-half of each of my parents’ qualities.
  • having siblings to admire & count on.
  • bearing the title of ‘peanut’ to my four fantastic nieces!
  • having been raised in a small town.
  • having teachers throught elementary/high school who genuinely cared for me, and still being overjoyed to see them when i return to my hometown.
  • the opportunities i have had to travel & experience so many cultures at such a young age.
  • the other opportunities i have had to excel in academics, & for those who believed in me along the way
  • getting accepted to my dream college, receiving scholarships to make that dream a reality, and for having professors here who are committed to our success and growth.
  • the mentors who have carried me through some of my darkest days, & who have been there to rejoice with me in my sweetest ones.
  • never having to go without what i need.
  • having access to loads of information at my fingertips – i mean, can you imagine having to write college term papers withOUT internet databases?!
  • sweet tea. :D
  • a passion for frugality & stewardship.
  • a closet full of clothes.
  • a pantry & fridge full of good food.
  • the blessed assurance that His plan for me is perfect, even when i try and nudge Him to move things along a little more quickly. :)
  • the home i have found at lifechurch.tv, & the multiple ministries i have gotten to serve in there.
  • the switch small group of 8th-grade girls that i get to lead!
  • the beauty of my state.
  • how He has worked through my mom’s recent diagnosis. we have so much to be thankful for during this season.
  • the lifelong circle of friends God’s given to me, both in high school & at obu.
  • the time i spent in mexico & turkey on mission.
  • red dirt music… if i can say that? :)
  • my esl students in the intensive english program.
  • southern cookin’.
  • the feeling i get when i drive in the country.
  • the friendships twittering has fostered!
  • that everyone in my immediate family lives within two hours or so of campus. this has literally been a lifeline for me while in college.
  • every heartbreak & lesson learned, as much as i try to deny it sometimes. i couldn’t very well be me without ’em, right?
2 Comments

Filed under holidays, thursday thirty

2 responses to “the thursday thirty, issue eleven.

  1. Alece

    red dirt music?

  2. taylor

    it's a wee more rough 'n tumble than regular country music. :)

Leave a Reply

