just one.

several of y’all have selected one word to meditate on – a term which will influence your everyday actions and the not-so-simple ones alike, a thought or goal to strive toward – in the first year of this brand new decade. i’ve combed through blog posts and tweets about the concept, surprised and inspired by your chosen words.

got me thinkin’.

out of the thousands of words in my language, which one will adequately convey what i want for myself in 2010?

servitude.

i want to reflect on servitude and allow it to spur me to act differently this year. serving others, serving the least of these, and in turn serving Christ as His bride. the textbook definition of servitude is vitally important to this year as well: a condition in which one lacks liberty, especially to determine one’s cause of action or way of life. while i certainly bear responsibility for which paths cruise down and what i choose to do with His provisions, i’ve also got to learn how to relinquish my white-knuckled grip on my dear and often selfish desires and visions. hmph. this is going to be quite the experiment, y’all.

within the words we speak are life and death. a grouping of letters and sounds has power. let’s speak life this year, to ourselves and to one another. speak life into your plans and to your family, speak life over the most terrifying and sorrowful situations in your world. speak life into the next 365 days. what one word do you want to characterize your 2010?

6 Comments

Filed under servitude, writings

6 responses to “just one.

  1. Hey Taylor,
    I found you from Alece’s blog. I loved what you have written here. Your heart is stunning!

    My word for the year is “completion”… I have written about it on my blog. http://jewelsightings.blogspot.com. I’d love to have you stop by for a visit.

    God has planted a love in my heart for younger women. I am happy to meet you!

    Happy New Year!
    Julie

  2. Don’t know if it will define my whole year, but I just preached yesterday on the word ‘consecration.’ We know all about anticipation and preparation, but very little about consecrations. Nothing we do in our everyday life seems holy or sacred, but it is, and we live lives that are worthy of consecration.

  3. i love your one-word.

    and enjoyed hearing your heart behind choosing it. “lacks liberty” – WOAH…

  4. Nice! I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?

  5. Pingback: the thursday thirty, issue sixteen. « wild hope.

Leave a Reply

