hallelujah.

i’ve been thinking a ton about the ability to rejoice, regardless of circumstances. it’s a sign of spiritual maturity, it’s an indicator of where one’s trust truly lies. and it’s hard. this past sunday morning at church, it was genuinely difficult to celebrate during worship. i found myself begrudgingly clapping during certain songs, and simply wanting to cry during others. i didn’t feel good about it whatsoever. i began to wonder if this was the moment i was beginning to shift into a state of miserable bitterness based on what stage of the journey i’m currently in. but someone reassured me that it wasn’t false worship, that it would eventually pass. and i know she’s spot-on.

last night at switch, our student pastor gave us an illustration that mirrored what i’ve felt and wondered in these past few days. he instructed us to close one eye, place our index finger over the eye we still had open, and look at him on the stage. “which one looks bigger – me or your finger?” he asked. compared to what was right in front of us, he seemed so small. our circumstances, tragedies, and unexpected speedbumps so often appear to be bigger than the God we abide in, but clarity eventually will show its face.

God is bigger than cancer. He’s bigger than my fears. He’s bigger than the trust i have trouble placing in Him when it comes to my parents’ health. He’s bigger than my bad days.

whatever’s in front of me, i’ll choose to sing hallelujah.

do you have a similar story?

3 Comments

Filed under authentic faith, switch, writings

3 responses to “hallelujah.

  1. P.Selvaraj

    Good illustration by the Pastor.yes,God is bigger than any of the problems we may be facing.

  2. That reminds me of Matt Redman’s song Blessed Be Your Name

    Every blessing You pour out
    I’ll turn back to praise
    When the darkness closes in, Lord
    Still I will say

    Blessed be the name of the Lord
    Blessed be Your name
    Blessed be the name of the Lord
    Blessed be Your glorious name

    My heart will choose to say
    Lord, blessed be Your name

  3. But what about when you open both your eyes and your thumb is still really really really really really big? What about when you TRY to take a step back and your problems are still really big and never-changing?
    I do understand what you’re saying. And I even agree. I just don’t know how to feel that way too. When I wake up and I’m all alone, and God is so…invisible…I don’t say hallelujah. I don’t even want to want to want to. God IS bigger then problems, but that doesn’t mean He solves them…and living with them is so so so hard. and long. it’s like the pain just never ends…

Leave a Reply

