talk about perfect timing.

the night my sister told me that my mom has cancer, my mind raced in a thousand directions. by that next morning in early november, i wondered what 2010 would have in store and where it would take our family. weeks before, i had began seeking an opportunity to serve in canada during the summer that we’re now in. suddenly, though, i was reevaluating if i should commit to go until we knew what our action plan against the disease would be. there was no way in heck i was going to be in another country while my mama was undergoing chemo or radiaton.

i prayed and i sought, and i asked her what she thought i should do. unwaveringly, my mom encouraged me not to put the plans that God and i had for serving in quebec on hold. her reassurance made me brave, and i applied to work with this faithful congregation for five weeks in the summertime. earlier this month, i realized something pretty incredible: my mom will complete her last radiation treatment – and subsequently her last treatment period – the day before my plane takes off for canada. no more surgeries, no more chemo, no more nothin’. the very day before my bags will be checked and my passport will be stamped. 

could God have sent any clearer of a message? i love it.

when has He smacked you in the forehead and let you know that something was His design?

7 Comments

Filed under authentic faith, family, fear, missions, quebec

7 responses to “talk about perfect timing.

  1. Linn

    Wow!!! This is truly amazing. God is so good and he speaks very clear!! He wants to have you in Canada this summer! :)

    • thanks for commenting, linn! on one of the reports i completed for the mission board, it asked me to describe some events or people who helped confirm i was meant to serve in canada this summer. this is definitely what i wrote about! :)

  2. Jennifer Hood

    Love it! Although I won’t know what to do with myself for the 5 weeks you are gone, I know it’s waht you’re supposed to do! Love you sweet friend!

    • sweetheart, i’m going to miss you immensely while i’m gone! i can’t wait to take you to the fair after i return and tell you all about my term there. love you!

  3. Can I please just say that I adore your blog so much.. You were the that bucket of faith and spirit that I needed this morning. Thank you! I love those moments where He reminds me that He is very much in control.. I was freaking out for so long over finding a summer job to keep my occupied and help me earn money before moving to New York and mid-prayer I started checking my email (which I know I should not have done) but sitting in my inbox was a job offer.. That was all I needed to see to know that He has it under control.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

    • you have an amazing example of His power, hannah! thank you so much for sharing it with me. i love it! i hope that summer job is going great for you. :)

  4. Oh that your mother’s advise may stay strong in your heart forever–not to put the Lord’s plans on hold. Oh the way that the Lord chooses to bless us when we serve him without looking back! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

